National Holiday 🇧🇪 This weekend 21% discount on the entire collection! Use code BELGIUM21 during check out.

Free shipping within the Benelux from €100. From €150 free in the rest of the EU.

trees planted
4,295

Daphné Merlevede

Daphné is a 26-year-old Bruges entrepreneur with spunk. We got to know her as the short track star who participated in the "Koers zkt. Woman" contest. That she had never been on a cross bike before did not deter her in the least. From the ice track to the mud on the field. We thought that was tremendously cool.  

In the short track discipline, Daphné was a late bloomer. She did not start it until her 18th birthday. However, that did not stop her from making tremendous progress in a short period of time. Barely five years later, she was already at the start of her first World Cup race as a member of the women's relay team. The ultimate goal is or was the 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing. However, the corona pandemic threw a spanner in the works, causing Daphné to look for an alternative. Because sitting still is clearly not an option for Daphné. 

And that on Koers zkt. Woman, to her own surprise, she did damn well too. Daphné popped through all the preliminaries and amazed in several disciplines. From a field of more than 1,000 Belgian sporting women, a selection was made in several rounds. Daphné eventually stranded in the penultimate shuffle. There the last 10 participants competed in a real cyclocross race for the best three places. Daphné was unfortunately not on the podium but was still satisfied with her cyclocross debut. 

At The Vandal, we are thrilled to have found a new ambassador in her. Sporty and entrepreneurial as she is, she totally fits the The Vandal and Vandalista picture! 

Share this post

Stay tuned for our promotions and new collections!

Fête nationale 🇧🇪 Ce week-end 21% réduction sur toute la collection ! Utilisez le code BELGIUM21 lors du paiement.

Livraison gratuite dans le Benelux à partir de 100€. À partir de 150€ dans l'UE.

arbres plantés
4,715

Daphné Merlevede

Daphné est une jeune entrepreneuse brugeoise de 26 ans qui a du cran. Nous l'avons connue en tant que star du short track qui a participé au concours "Koers zkt. Woman". Le fait qu'elle n'ait jamais enfourché un vélo de cross ne l'a pas du tout découragée. De la piste de glace à la boue sur le terrain. Nous avons trouvé cela extrêmement cool.  

Dans la discipline du shorttrack, Daphné s'est révélée tardivement. Elle ne l'a commencée qu'à l'âge de 18 ans. Cela ne l'a pas empêchée de faire d'énormes progrès en peu de temps. A peine cinq ans plus tard, elle était déjà au départ de sa première course de Coupe du monde en tant que membre de l'équipe féminine de relais. L'objectif ultime est ou était les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2022 à Pékin. Mais la pandémie de grippe aviaire a mis des bâtons dans les roues de Daphné, qui s'est mise en quête d'une alternative. Car pour Daphné, l'immobilisme n'est manifestement pas une option. 

Et cela dans Koers zkt. Femme, à sa grande surprise, elle s'en est très bien sortie. Daphné a franchi toutes les étapes préliminaires et s'est distinguée dans différentes disciplines. Parmi plus de 1 000 sportives belges, une sélection a été faite en plusieurs tours. Daphné s'est finalement retrouvée dans l'avant-dernier tour. Là, les 10 dernières participantes se sont affrontées dans une véritable course de cyclocross pour les trois meilleures places. Daphné n'est malheureusement pas montée sur le podium mais était tout de même satisfaite de ses débuts en cyclo-cross. 

Au Vandal, nous sommes heureux d'avoir trouvé en elle une nouvelle ambassadrice. Sportive et entreprenante, elle correspond tout à fait à l'image de The Vandal et de Vandalista ! 

Partager cet article

Restez à l'écoute de nos promotions et de nos nouvelles collections !